Biden Names Additional Appointees

President-elect Joe Biden named several members of his economic team this past week. As expected in previous reports, Biden nominated Janet Yellen to serve as Treasury secretary. He also named Neera Tanden, president and CEO of the Center for American Progress, as Director of the Office of Management and Budget; Wally Adeyemo, president of the Obama Foundation and former Obama administration official, as deputy Treasury secretary; Cecilia Rouse, dean of the Princeton School of Public and International Affairs and former member of Obama’s Council of Economic Advisers, as CEA chair; Heather Boushey, president and CEO of the Washington Center for Equitable Growth, and Jared Bernstein, a Senior Fellow at the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities, as members of CEA.

Bernstein is then-Vice President Biden’s former chief economist and executive director of the White House Task Force on the Middle Class. Earlier this year, NH&RA’s Tax Credit Advisor magazine interviewed Bernstein about affordable housing and tax incentive policies. In that interview, Bernstein said solutions to the nation’s affordable housing crisis included zoning and subsidies to increase incentives to build additional supply. The interview is available on NH&RA’s website. To subscribe to Tax Credit Advisor, visit the TCA website.